Encamped Voices. Sound Recordings of Internees from World War II

During World War I, the Royal Prussian Phonographic Commission was established. The collaboration of linguists, orientalists, experts on Africa, and musicologists produced more than 2,500 grammophone and phonograph sound recordings in German prisoner of war camps. Examples of the music and the songs of “foreign peoples” on wax cylinders were intended to enlarge the collections of the Berlin Phonogram Archive. The speech and dialect samples of various groups of internees on wax discs formed the basis of the Sound Department of the Prussian State Library, established in 1920, and were transferred to the Berlin University in 1934.

The topic of my research are those sound recordings that were produced between 1939 and 1942 under the supervision of the university. Drawing legitimacy from the practice, already established during the First World War, of producing sound recordings in prison camps, three research projects were also carried out in prison camps during the Second World War: in order to analyze foreign languages, sound recordings were again made of African soldiers of the French army, who were interned in German camps in occupied France, as well as Russian soldiers interned in camps in Brandenburg. A third project extended the research agenda established in the 1920s of recording German dialects to the widest possible range: in 1941, academics recorded the dialects of German “Heimkehrer”(repatriates) from Galicia and Volhynia in “volksdeutschen Lagern” (camps of “ethnic Germans”).

My research project traces the unexamined history of the preserved sound recordings from a perspective informed by the history of knowledge and the history of science. It examines how the voices were transferred from the camps to the holdings of the Sound Archive of Humboldt University in Berlin. (Editor’s Note: in German, the word “Lager” is used to denote both a “camp” and a storage space or depot where archival materials are held.) It also asks about structural relations between the camps and the depot of voices in the archive. Sounds, speech, languages and their technical recording and reproduction are situated in an eminently political context that must be analyzed with a view to the past but also to the present.

DFG

Stimmen auf Lager. Tonaufnahmen von Internierten aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg

Während des Ersten Weltkriegs produzierte eine eigens gegründete Königlich Preußische Phonographische Kommission aus Linguisten, Orientalisten, Afrikanisten und Musikwissenschaftlern mit Phonograph und Grammophon mehr als 2.500 Tonaufnahmen in deutschen Kriegsgefangenenlagern. Als Beispiele der Musik und Gesänge „fremder Völker“ sollten die Wachszylinder die Sammlung des Berliner Phonogrammarchivs erweitern. Die Beispiele von Sprachen und Dialekten der verschiedenen internierten Gruppen auf Wachsplatten dagegen sollten dazu dienen, ein „Sprachenmuseum“ aller Völker herzustellen. Die Sammlung bildete den Grundstock der 1920 eingerichteten Lautabteilung der Preußischen Staatsbibliothek und wurde als Institut für Lautforschung 1934 an die Berliner Universität übertragen.

Gegenstand meiner Untersuchung sind jene Tonaufnahmen, die unter der Zuständigkeit der Universität in den Jahren 1939 bis 1942 entstanden. In legitimierender Anknüpfung an die im Ersten Weltkrieg umgesetzte Idee der Herstellung von Tonaufnahmen in Lagern wurden auch im Zweiten Weltkrieg drei Forschungsprojekte in Lagern durchgeführt: So entstanden zur Erforschung von Fremdsprachen neuerlich Aufnahmen von afrikanischen Soldaten aus der französischen Armee, die als Kriegsgefangene im deutsch besetzten Teil Frankreichs interniert waren, aber auch von Soldaten aus der russischen Armee, welche in Brandenburger Lagern festgehalten wurden. Ein drittes Projekt stellte eine Erweiterung des Forschungsauftrags aus den 1920er Jahren dar, deutsche Dialekte in möglichst großer Varianz aufzunehmen: Im Jahr 1941 wurden die Mundarten von so genannten deutschen „Heimkehrern“ aus Galizien und Wolhynien in „volksdeutschen Lagern“ aufgenommen.

Das Forschungsprojekt zeichnet die bis heute nicht aufgearbeitete Geschichte dieser erhaltenen Tonsammlungen wissens- wie wissenschaftsgeschichtlich nach. Es stellt dabei nicht nur die Frage, wie Stimmen aus den Lagern ins Lager des heutigen Lautarchivs der Humboldt-Universität gelangten, sondern auch, welche strukturelle Beziehung zwischen den Gefangenen-, Internierungs-, Durchgangslagern und dem Stimmenlager im Archiv besteht. Stimme, Sprache und ihre technische Aufzeichnung wie Reproduktion bewegen sich in einem eminent politischen Kontext, den es mit Blick auf die Geschichte ebenso wie auf die Gegenwart zu befragen gilt.

DFG